It Happened, The Poldiac Clone $33.52

The Chinese stores have got with the program and are now selling the Poldiac clone’s clone… First things first, this is not the same clone that I wrote a review for. There are noticeable differences. The model I purchased came in an Asmart Box, this one is from Davapes. I’ll just go ahead and mention the noticeable differences.

Notice there are no pants for 18500 mode

Notice there are no pants for 18500 mode

The tube configuration is why I refer to it as a clone of a clone. 18500 mode is not the most popular choice, but I don’t want to add that common tube section extender, I’d much rather have the tube and pants for that size.

Did someone burn the spring?

Did someone burn the spring?

It looks like they did take the time to polish this mod up before putting it for sale at Fasttech. Unfortunately they might have ruined the spring… or it’s just not silver like the real Poldiac or the other clone. Another concern is the mention of Silver coated brass pins. On the Asmart model I was told by the supplier directly that the pins are solid silver. I would greatly appreciate it if someone wanted to correct me on that statement, but I’m not in favor of ruining my own model to find out.

Science has gone too far!

Science has gone too far!

I’d love to be able to give useful information, like if the parts are interchangeable with the original or comment on the machining, but as one user showed me, this model is clearly different than the one I have. Even the brass on this model looks more consistent then the clone I purchased (an upside?)

Here is what Fasttech says about it:

First shipment shipping out on January 8th, 2014.
  • Made of stainless steel and brass
  • Silver-plated brass 510 contact pin (adjustable)
  • Magnetic side-mounted button
  • Stainless steel ‘shirt’ and ‘pants’
  • Multiple configuration options
  • Laser engraving serial number and logo
  • Recessed 510 threading connector
  • Compatible with the Kick (Kick sold separately)
  • Houses single 18350/18500/18650 battery (batteries sold separately)

You can get yourself one here http://www.fasttech.com/products/1411/10006472/1589300-mixed-poldiac-style-mechanical-mod-kit

At this price I would get myself another clone, but I’m going to wait for an all brass or all steel model since I already have one in this exact arrangement.

 

Leave a Reply

